Dedicated to Notre-Dame-de-Consolation, the parish church of Le Vieux-Marché has a classical Latin cross plan.
The building was constructed between 1878 and 1892 on the site of a former chapel with a rectangular floor plan and Gregorian bell tower dating from 1547, many of whose elements have been replaced.
The communes of Plouaret and Le Vieux-Marché once formed a single large parish covering more than 50 km2. The name ‘Vieux Marché’ comes from the fairs and markets held there in the Middle Ages. In 1866, Le Vieux Marché became an independent commune.
Inside the church is a magnificent Gothic sacristy (a wall-mounted tabernacle for storing consecrated hosts, circa 1500), the Gothic lettering of which has yet to be deciphered. The furnishings include a monumental carved stone pulpit and a stone high altar with figures of saints.
Since 1927, the ancient architectural features of the parish church of Le Vieux Marché have been listed as Historic Monuments: the west doorway, the small north doorway with its flanking niches and the Pietà in the left-hand niche (the Virgin Mary weeping over her child whom she is holding in her lap). These remains bear witness to the wealth of the original chapel, which was reused to build a new building dedicated to worship.
Its devotional fountain, located 200 metres away, was rediscovered and fully restored in 2014.
In addition to the war memorial to the north of the church, there is a second war memorial from the 1914-1918 war inside the church itself.
The church is open on request from the Town Hall.
A key can be collected on presentation of your identity card.
The outside of the church is open to visitors all year round.
Information available on site.
The building was constructed between 1878 and 1892 on the site of a former chapel with a rectangular floor plan and Gregorian bell tower dating from 1547, many of whose elements have been replaced.
The communes of Plouaret and Le Vieux-Marché once formed a single large parish covering more than 50 km2. The name ‘Vieux Marché’ comes from the fairs and markets held there in the Middle Ages. In 1866, Le Vieux Marché became an independent commune.
Inside the church is a magnificent Gothic sacristy (a wall-mounted tabernacle for storing consecrated hosts, circa 1500), the Gothic lettering of which has yet to be deciphered. The furnishings include a monumental carved stone pulpit and a stone high altar with figures of saints.
Since 1927, the ancient architectural features of the parish church of Le Vieux Marché have been listed as Historic Monuments: the west doorway, the small north doorway with its flanking niches and the Pietà in the left-hand niche (the Virgin Mary weeping over her child whom she is holding in her lap). These remains bear witness to the wealth of the original chapel, which was reused to build a new building dedicated to worship.
Its devotional fountain, located 200 metres away, was rediscovered and fully restored in 2014.
In addition to the war memorial to the north of the church, there is a second war memorial from the 1914-1918 war inside the church itself.
The church is open on request from the Town Hall.
A key can be collected on presentation of your identity card.
The outside of the church is open to visitors all year round.
Information available on site.