In its enclosure, the chapel of St Jérôme de la Salle, completed in 1536, is a testament to its era, with its blend of flamboyant Gothic style and Renaissance innovations.
The patron, probably the owner of the Manoir de la Salle, dedicated the chapel to Saint Jerome, a saint who was virtually unknown in Brittany at the time. It is the only chapel of St Jerome in Brittany.
The quality of this small building and the originality and richness of its interior sculptures justified the chapel's classification as a Historic Monument in 1930.
Restoration work on the interior of the chapel, including 16th-century sculptures, polychrome vaulting (early 19th century), 18th-century statues, communion table (17th century), earthen wall plaster and polychrome paintings of the chevet, began in 2009 and will be completed in 2011.
Visits on request to the town hall from 8.30am to 12.30pm.
Pardon on 15 August.
The patron, probably the owner of the Manoir de la Salle, dedicated the chapel to Saint Jerome, a saint who was virtually unknown in Brittany at the time. It is the only chapel of St Jerome in Brittany.
The quality of this small building and the originality and richness of its interior sculptures justified the chapel's classification as a Historic Monument in 1930.
Restoration work on the interior of the chapel, including 16th-century sculptures, polychrome vaulting (early 19th century), 18th-century statues, communion table (17th century), earthen wall plaster and polychrome paintings of the chevet, began in 2009 and will be completed in 2011.
Visits on request to the town hall from 8.30am to 12.30pm.
Pardon on 15 August.